Coffee with me, myself and I

  
Coffee with me, myself and I
As a cool gentle breeze delivers a bouquet of scents to me I pause in appreciation for the vast choices available to me. An endless blue sky delicately interrupted by a few whispers of cloud, it’s a perfect spring day. Today I truly made a choice that is good for my soul, I did something that is only for me and took myself out for coffee.

I begun the day mostly the same as I do any other week day. The mind numbing routine that I could do and properly mostly do unconsciously. Making lunches, breakfast, put washing on, listen to fowl words being exchanged between brothers, repeating the same words (many of them threats) over and over, checking emails,school run, bla bla bla, Oo slight change in plans this morning, no gym but must do some Halloween party shopping and then on route home my thoughts began to wonder. 

Thoughts of all the fabulous coffee moments and catch ups with the great people, the joy of being present, relaxed and rejuvenated. And how I only do that with someone else, even if I feel like it I don’t take time out in a beautiful space, relaxing, enjoying a coffee. I don’t really give myself that time. I wondered about what I really wanted to do in that moment. Okay so I was just about to drive past this great little coffee shop that’s in a most lovely setting, that serve some truly delicious treats. Just the temptation I needed

So on my way home today I took a detour from my ‘normal’ and stopped at this lovely garden center, with the great little coffee shop (well it’s not that little) that I’ve visited a couple of times with friends and family. Always sharing this lovely space and experience with others, but never just enjoying it on my own, this moment I decided to do it for myself. ‘I am sitting outside in the sunshine, a gorgeous lady has just delivered a hot cappuccino and a warm cheese and herb pot bread. I am the only person here that isn’t with another person. I do feel rather indulgent, and very grateful that I can do this.’

I think that in this hour that I gave myself exactly what I wanted truly fed my soul. 

A little bit of Astro thoughts dancing in my mind – With the sun in the sign of Libra it’s all about relationships. You have relationships with everything, you are in relationship with life and your relationship with yourself is the number one relationship.

With all this pondering I have come to realize that it’s my relationship with myself that needs the most nurturing, it’s the one that has been most neglected and so today that changes.

Me, myself and I are going to be hanging out in beautiful spaces more often.

2 thoughts on “Coffee with me, myself and I

Leave a Reply

